Frigideiras do Cantinho | Meat Puff Pastry Mini-Pie and Roman Ruins | Braga

The recipe is kept secret – the place was founded in 1796, it is the oldest establishment of its kind in the the city, and it has been refurbished several times throughout its history. The latest refurbishment brought to light Roman ruins from the 2nd and 3rd century. The solution for the valuable findings are to be admired by the customers while they savour a Frigideira – a meat puff pastry mini-pie which is famous all over the country. The floor is made of glass so as to make possible the vision of what is left of a Roman domus. Frigideira means pan – tasting it brings us closer to traditional homemade food… at the same time there’s a lot of ancient history under our feet!

Coordinates: 41°33’01.0″N 8°25’30.8″W

26 thoughts on “Frigideiras do Cantinho | Meat Puff Pastry Mini-Pie and Roman Ruins | Braga

  1. DotedOn June 6, 2015 / 12:37 pm

    That must be a very special place 🙂

    Like

      • DotedOn June 6, 2015 / 12:44 pm

        🙂 well done! That way they’ll be pushed to keep the good quality 😀

        Like

        • jazzyoutoo_lostinbraga June 6, 2015 / 12:49 pm

          Have I told you that good tasty food is everywhere in Braga – people are very demanding – if the food sucks the place is doomed! No clients,doors closed!

          Liked by 1 person

          • DotedOn June 6, 2015 / 1:06 pm

            It should be like that EVERYWHERE!! 😀
            I’m vegetarian José!! (But I can prepare “Bolo de Sardinhas”, I worked for a few years with a Portuguese man and he asked me if I could prepare that for him because he missed his mother’s one 😀

            Like

              • DotedOn June 6, 2015 / 1:39 pm

                Canned! 😀
                I’m afraid of the other fish!!
                I don’t know how to clean it or anything… I think it’s already an achievement that I cook with meat for others 🙂

                Like

                  • DotedOn June 6, 2015 / 1:59 pm

                    Yes! 🙂
                    I never liked meat but I was pushed to eat it until I was 16, then one day I said to my mom (after an incident of eating some meat that wasn’t really cooked): “That was my last bite of meat” 😀

                    Liked by 1 person

  2. Singbetterenglish June 6, 2015 / 2:14 pm

    Hi José – it’s a trip down a happy memory lane reading your blog. I remember visiting a cafe with roman ruins under a glass floor – now I know the name, so I can recommend it to other people. Thanks for that.

    I have a question – a language question – when I looked up cantinho on the faithful Google translate, it came up with ‘corner’ in English. But when I looked on another translation site, it gave me ‘den’, ‘place’ – so I wonder if cantinho is a word with a cosy sense of familiarity, a favourite place – a bit like ‘rincon’ in Spanish. When you use the word cantinho, in ordinary conversation, how do you use it? Or isn’t it a word that lives in ordinary conversation?

    All best wishes
    Elaine

    Like

    • jazzyoutoo_lostinbraga June 6, 2015 / 3:09 pm

      Here up north we tend to use the suffix “inho” (masculine) and “inha” (feminine) to express that something or someone is meaningful for us or at least our description using the suffix tries to show that closer and caring relation. Pai – paizinho (father – dad/daddy) ; mãe – mãezinha (mother – mum/mummy). Canto (de uma rua) means corner (of a street), when I say “cantinho” I try to express the size (rather small), but also I want to express some familiarity, a praise, the fact that I like it, I wouldn’t call it “cantinho” if I hated it. People from the south mock us about this use/abuse of such suffix. So my son (filho) would be called “filhinho” if I wanted to show him/other people that I love and care him even more. The use of the suffix with objects is more related with size but familiarity and positivity are also present.
      I hope was clear enough.
      O meu filhinho foi hoje à escolinha brincar com os amiguinhos!
      (My little son went today to his small school to play with his little friends) 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Singbetterenglish June 6, 2015 / 7:23 pm

        Thank you for that. There’s something almost physical – like a hug – about inho/inha added onto the end of a word.

        We do it with ie or y in English – Deborah to Debby or Oliver to Ollie. If you’re out for a walk with a small child, you might say ‘look at that nice doggy/kitty’ or ‘that’s a pretty birdy.’

        And, i have to ask – what do people in the south of Portugal say instead of inho/inha?

        Like

        • jazzyoutoo_lostinbraga June 6, 2015 / 9:02 pm

          They also do it! We use such words much more often. The rule is the same and so is the meaning – it’s just a way of cuddling the words while you talk!

          Liked by 1 person

  3. fillyourownglass June 7, 2015 / 10:09 pm

    What a cool place, and the sight of those puff pastries is making my mouth water. They look delicious!

    Like

  4. Terri Webster Schrandt June 10, 2015 / 4:12 am

    Your post was perfect for #TheLeisureLink. After all, leisure is about travel and food! Your pastry looks delish!! Hope to see your next post soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

