Igreja de S. Vicente | Saint Vincent Church | Braga

The Visigoths were responsible for the construction of the temple which originated the Saint Vincent Church – the inscription on a tombstone in the vestry dates back 618 AD – of course that’s the only thing left from those times, even if we go back to 1565 – the most likely year of the church foundation, there isn’t much from those times either.

At the top of its facade there’s the papal cross, with three horizontal bars near the top, this cross is unprecedented in Braga. Another interesting fact is that the tower bell is opposite the facade – a major aesthetic concern from Braga’s architects so as not to collide with the harmony of the church facades.

The interior of the church is well worth a visit – a real treat for our senses! Saint Vincent is the patron saint of the poor, his cult, it is believed, goes back to the Visigothic kingdom period.

Coordinates:  41°33’22.7″N 8°25’16.4″W

5 thoughts on “Igreja de S. Vicente | Saint Vincent Church | Braga

  1. DotedOn June 1, 2015 / 9:11 pm

    Beautiful! 🙂
    My son’s name is Vincenzo. I didn’t know Saint Vincent was the patron saint of the poor 🙂

    Like

      • DotedOn June 1, 2015 / 9:19 pm

        It’s the name of my ex’s father… I wasn’t so pleased to call him that way…
        And what broke my heart it was that he wasn’t pleased either!! Come on, my dad would have been delighted if I called my son after him!
        Now I can’t imagine my boy with any other name 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

